Honor

My thirst for inner satisfaction is no longer quenched by successful materialistic endeavors… Although rich in physical outcome, but often poor in spiritual outcome.
Sure, you might rejoice for a day or two… But then what? You keep craving for more and more. Your craving will never settle down, which is fantastic! But is both, a blessing and a curse at the same time. A blessing in a sense that nothing will knock that terrifying hunger for more and more off of you. A curse in a sense that nothing in this world will ever end your hunger as long as you are alive, which will leave you disappointed. The key point here is that, anything that is materialistic can grant you satisfaction. But, a temporary one. It’s like never-ending cycle. It’s as if these materialistic endeavors tend to stretch the timeline of this temporary satisfaction… Prolong it.
What matters in this life, at least to my own eyes, is acts of honor. An honorable duel with the obstacles of life is what life’s all about. But what is an act of honor, some may ask?
An act of honor is surely subjective and relative. However, I believe that a true act of honor is any act that enforces you to stop thinking about your satisfaction. It is any act that makes you happy that you’re doing this certain act. No matter how much or how little you gain, be truthful. The ability to face life without considering personal benefits is true human power. This is humanity. The ability to stand on your feet and just look at life in its eyes… This is pure strength. At the end of the day, an honorable act will leave you speechless. “Hey, I don’t care that I didn’t win this prize. Although, I could have easily won by cheating my way into the competition, but I’m happy I didn’t. That alone means a lot to me than any materialistic prize will ever do.”
“Do as your conscience dictates.” How do you feed this conscience? Honorable acts. Honorable acts are key.

Leave a comment